Answer

Published October 28, 2011 by Christa Maurice

Want to start at the beginning?

 

What is wrong with you?” Sonya demanded. “You’ve been acting like a nut for days.”

I’m not acting like a nut.” Colleen clutched the neck of her shirt closed.

You are too. God, you’d think somebody was after you.” Sonya stomped toward the door and yanked it open before Colleen could tell her not to. “Can you tell your girlfriend to quit acting like a loon?”

Dan opened his mouth and then closed it again. “She’s my girlfriend?”

Sonya rolled her eyes. “Just what I need. Both of you being insane.”

I’m not being insane.”

What’s going on?” Dan stepped inside and closed the door. “I’ve been trying to call you for three days.”

She won’t answer the phone.” Sonya glared at Colleen. “She keeps turning the ringer off so I won’t answer it either.”

Is somebody harassing you?” Dan asked.

Colleen pursed her lips, but didn’t answer,

Colleen?”

Her eyes met his. How could she tell him? Sorry, but my ex-fiance is here begging my forgiveness and I’m involved with you and with Mike, but I’m not sure if I shouldn’t forgive him. How can I after what he did, but how can I not? He was the first man I ever loved. Colleen chewed her lip. Then the phone rang and she jumped, biting her cheek.

Are you going to answer it?” Sonya asked. “Oh my God. I’ll get it.”

No!” Colleen heard her voice screeching. Dan and Sonya didn’t miss it either. Both of them flinched.

You see what I mean?” Sonya put her hands on her hips. “Dan.”

The phone rang again. Dan crossed the room and picked up the phone. Colleen held her breath as he listened.

Sir, this is Officer Dan O’Neill of the Los Angeles Police. I understand-” Dan frowned. Then he set the phone back in its cradle. “He hung up. I don’t think he’ll bother you anymore.”

Colleen stared at him. Bother her? Was that what David had been doing? Sobs crowded her throat. “You had no right to do that.”

What?” Sonya shouted. “He was helping you.”

Colleen clenched her teeth. How could she know? Dan just stood there looking at her. Steady, reliable Dan. Maybe he knew. Maybe he didn’t. Colleen spun around and ran for her room. Dan closed the distance behind her quickly, but not quickly enough. She slammed the door in his face.

Colleen, open the door.” His voice had that wonderful authoritative ring that she loved and hated. “Colleen.”

She slid to the floor, covering her face with her hands.

She loved Dan. Loved the security of him and the low rumble of his voice. He loved her too, or he wouldn’t be here.

She loved Mike. His easy smile and adventurous spirit. Since that night at the disco, he’d been more than willing to hold their dates at his place or hers, but he’d never gone past second base.

But David. David was the first man she’d ever loved. He was the one who needed her the most. And now he was here because he still needed her.

How was she supposed to choose? What would happen if she chose wrong?

Leave a Reply

