Unexpected Arrival

Published October 7, 2011 by Christa Maurice

Want to start at the beginning?

 

Why?” Colleen scowled. The man was utterly baffling.

I told you. I’m in love with you. With you, I want to do things right.”

So what? No sex until we’re lawfully wedded?” Colleen wondered if Mike thought the same way. She wished David had.

I didn’t say that, but I want to be in a committed relationship with you when we get that far.” He looked her in the eyes. “I don’t want you dating anybody else if you’re sleeping with me.”

And you don’t think you’re a Boy Scout.”

He hugged her high around her shoulders and kissed her cheek. “I don’t care if you want to have fun, but when you’re mine, you’re going to be all mine. That doesn’t make me a Boy Scout. It makes me greedy. Goodnight sweetheart, I’ll give you a call in the morning.”

Colleen got into her car and started the engine. Dan waited until she had pulled out of her space before he started his car. Patient. He was going to be patient. Patient meant he planned to be around for a long time.

Tomorrow morning she was going to have to get to work on how she felt about that, but for now it was going to have to wait. Tonight, she was far too tired. She unlocked the apartment door and slipped in as quietly as possible. Sonya had another swing tomorrow so it was likely that she was still up and Colleen really didn’t want to rehash all her adventures tonight. As she walked past the kitchen, the phone rang. She grabbed it hoping that Sonya hadn’t heard it.

Hello?”

Colleen? Baby? Is it really you?”

Colleen gripped the counter. Only David had ever called her ‘baby.’ “Who is this?” she asked stupidly.

Don’t you recognize my voice? It’s your fiancée, David.”

You aren’t my fiancée anymore.” Colleen felt her knuckles grinding as her grip on the counter tightened. It didn’t help her grip on reality. That was slipping further and further away all the time.

I want to redeem myself. I’m so sorry I hurt you. I was scared. How much I love you scared me and I ran away like a child. I know I shouldn’t have. I know it was wrong.”

Of course it was wrong. You were sleeping with another woman in our bed.” Colleen felt her face getting hot at the memory. Her stomach rolled as she remembered the noises coming from the bedroom and the sight of their bodies tangled together in what she’d though of as her marriage bed.

I know that now and I want to make it up to you.”

Make it up to me? How could you possibly make it up to me?”

I want to try again. I swear I’ll do it right this time. I’ll be totally faithful to you.”

It’s not like I’m going to know what you’re doing in Ohio.”

I’m not in Ohio.”

What?”

I’m not in Ohio. I came here to be with you. I thought it would prove to you how serious I am.”

Colleen’s stomach started bouncing as well as rolling. “What do you mean you came here?”

Here, to California. They told me you transferred to the new store here in Los Angeles so I followed you. I want to be with you again.”

Colleen hung up the phone. David followed her to Los Angeles. He had decided he loved her more his other woman and came here to prove it to her. But he had said he loved her before and he’d obviously been lying then, hadn’t he? Or had he just been scared like he said? What if he did love her?

She still loved him.

Or she thought she did.

But there was Dan who was going to be patient. Who was such a Boy Scout that she could never imagine him lying to her or breaking her heart the way David had. Who would protect her from anyone else who wanted to hurt her or break her heart.

And there was Mike who was so easy to be with and who made her feel so comfortable and safe. He would never break her heart either. He might hurt her inadvertently, but he would feel so terrible that it would make up for everything.

The phone rang under her hand. Colleen thumbed the ringer off. She could still feel the vibration of the ringing, but the noise wouldn’t wake Sonya.

If only someone would wake her from this nightmare.

Leave a Reply

