Late Status Report

Published February 7, 2011 by Christa Maurice

Just dawned on me that I haven’t done a status report for January. Been busy. You know. So let’s see. Where am I?

Arden FD #3 Struck By Lightning. Finished and subbed to editor. Yay! I’m always a bit nervous about these things despite the fact that Lyrical has never been anything but overjoyed to get something new from me and the fact that this is a really good book. Doing the final comb through the other day I was laughing and yelling at the characters when they were being stupid. Now I’m left with the daunting task of writing the last Arden book (I think. There’s another character who seems to be angling for his own story and there’s a novella I have to write because I was told I had to by a friend/fan. And then there’s the police department.)

Welsh Rogue. I got a massive revise and resubmit from Carina for it and every comment was a Doh! moment. That’s going to take a while, but it will come out a stronger book even if Carina doesn’t take it in the end. And it’s nice to see how far I’ve come since I wrote it.

Roanoak. Sent off to HQ Undone, but I’m not sure it’s right for them. The story is really strong and tight. My critique partner said it’s her favorite so far, but it’s really unusual so it might have been better off with Carina. However, I was waiting on Welsh Rogue from Carina when I sent it off so that’s how that ball bounces.

Melody Unchained is out to Samhain. I’m not sure about that fit either. It’s not as steamy as most of their stuff, but it’s a strong story.

Surface Tension. Stalled on the hard drive. I got a pretty involved revise and resubmit from Wild Rose on it, but I don’t know if I can pull off the suggestions and keep true to the story. I’m considering doing a total remodel in the tradition of my favorite Leigh Michaels’ book, Backward Honeymoon, but with aliens.

Destined Flight is lost on my hard drive because I’m not sure where to send it. It’s ready to go, but where to? Decisions, decisions.

Weaver’s Circle #1 Secrets Everybody Knows. Coming out Friday! I’m setting up the promo for that. Yay! Friday!

Weaver’s Circle #2 Long Memory. Slated to come out in May. WooHoo!

Weaver’s Circle #3. I’m on the middle of that one and it’s killing me, but the R&R from Carina is taking precedence for the moment.

Touchstone #1 Satellite of Love. Still waiting on an editor. Book 3 in that series is done and ready to go. Book 4 is buzzing in my ear. Book 5 (novella length) is done and Brett might be my favorite hero ever. EVER! Book 6 (novella length) is forming in my subconscious. Book 7? No clue. At this point, I’m glad about that.

The other band novellas. One is done. Two is done and Alan runs a tight second for favorite hero ever. Angie is my favorite heroine. Doing all the right things for all the wrong reasons. Beautiful. Three is halfway, interrupted by Weaver’s Circle #3 which was interrupted by the Welsh Rogue R&R. Four is cooking in the back burner. After as much of a snot as Trent was in the first 2 books, he’s going to find out how much of a bitch karma really is. Bwahahahaha. Book 5, no clue, thank God. The last thing I need right now is more ideas I don’t have time for.

Most of this year (not July or August), I’m running a contest. Once a month (on the 17th for no real reason) I am posting a picture of a well known chain in Arabic. If you can be the first to correctly guess what the chain is you will win an ebook from my backlist. Any one as long as it’s already published (because if I have to try to remember to send something at a later date, I won’t.)

So that’s where I am. Wow. I better get to work. That R&R isn’t doing itself and it’s jamming up the works.

3 comments on “Late Status Report

  • Leave a Reply

