AA Founder’s Day

Published June 29, 2010 by Christa Maurice

Every year, just like clockwork, AA Founder’s Day sneaks up on me. You’d think after living in Akron, the birthplace of Alcoholics Anonymous and thus the birthplace of the 12 step program, I’d know it was coming. I’m not an alcoholic myself (though both my grandfathers were) so that might be why I don’t realize it until the streets are suddenly full of motorcycles and there’s a curious traffic jam in the quiet neighborhoods of Highland Square.

The week after the event I strolled through the neighborhood to take some pictures. And now, three weeks later, I’m posting them. Good thing I don’t treat my deadlines this way.

This is Dr. Bob’s house. See.

The next image is the corner Dr. Bob’s house is on. (Dr. Bob’s is on the right.) This corner is positively jammed Founder’s Day Weekend. This side of the stop sign both sides of the road were lined with Arid Club vans. The street on the other side of the stop sign was blocked off for motorcycle parkin and it was a little more than half full. And I was walking past at 8:30 in the morning.

This is the apartment I always wanted to live in on the second floor. It’s about a block up from Dr. Bob’s. The first apartment I lived in here is about a block to the right, but it’s a dump so I didn’t take a picture of it.

This is a really cool wreath made of peacock feathers that I saw on a door a couple of blocks away.

Leave a Reply

